Volunteer experience at coolTECH

I am currently taking Principles of Public Relations at the University of South Florida with Dr. Burns, and in her class she gave us an assignment to go out in our community and volunteer for an event. I never understood the value of this assignment until the experience was gone through.

I chose to volunteer at coolTECH on June10th. The Tampa Bay Technology Form, partnership with MOSI to host their fourth annual coolTECH showcase of superior innovations and new technologies. TBTF objective was to increase awareness of new innovative technology so they put together an event. The event attracted many businesses, entrepreneurs, student groups, educational institutions, innovators and more as the event was open to the public. 50 exhibitors showcased their technologies, where more than 550 people who attended the event got to see how those exhibitors brought new innovative ideas to change and impact the way we live, work and enjoy our lives The event hosted a very successful entrepreneur, Craig Newmark, founder of craigslist.org, where the guests had the privilege of hearing him give a speech of encouragements, and advise. Lori Taylor and Kimberly Wander are the two members that took control over the event.

My overall experience volunteering at coolTECH was great, despite not receiving instructions prior to the event; it was a wondering learning experience. My volunteering experience started at 12:00pm. The exhibition was open to the public at 1:30pm; however, some members were involved in a special lunch in, and got the privilege of hearing Mr. Craig Newmark give a speech. These member purchases a special package and arrived early, so our day started as early as 12:30pm.

The event coordinator gave me and another one of my peers the role of taking charge of the entering participants; we had to look up their reservations, if they were pre-registered, find their name tags and make sure to answer any questions they had. Throughout the volunteering experience I got along great with all the staff and volunteers and felt that we all work efficiently to solve any problems that occurred with professionalism.

After volunteering at coolTECH I learned that planning an event takes effective planning, and involves a lot of work. CoolTECH was a vital tool in Public Relations for TBTF as it allowed them to reach their main objective – letting companies tell their story. I can say I learned more through this experience then I predicated I would. Even though they were complications, I believe the complications taught me just how hard managing an event are.

This experience really gave me a new found appreciation of event planning and the hard work that is involved. I would defiantly recommend anyone to who is interested in Public Relations and event planning, to go out there and volunteer! It’s great experience and involves excellent networking.

Here are some following pictures I captured at the event to share with you all! :

Leave a Reply

